JUST FRIENDS by Billy Taylor

Synopsis

August and Ethan have been bestfriends since the day they met at Ethan’s seventh birthday party. And now, twelve years on, their friendship continues to grow. But after magic, fame, money and an unexplainable miracle in a car accident, August realises maybe she wants to be more than just friends.

My thoughts

One thing why I like reading books that are less popular is because it offers the same swoon and cuteness from the popular ones, and JUST FRIENDS is just like that. Like, I’m-in-love-with-my-best-friend-for-years-but-i-haven’t-told-him-since-and-now-I’m-losing-my-time-and-chances with a twist of magic, Hollywood and all.

I’read this book in one go, without realizing that it was getting late yet never did once I experienced boredom. Each part and chapter of the book would make you crave for more.

What I like about this book, is that Billy Taylor planted every detail for this book very well. I liked August’s and Ethan’s characters and how they strive to be good and reach their dreams and how their relationship from being friends to between context love for each other evolved.

But, my fave character in book would be Mrs Bishop, August’s mom, because honestly, she really got me with all those lines and advice.

However, i just find it somehow unreal when everything happens soooo fast. I mean, from being college students to the car accident to death of Ethan’s being the latest celeb and magician all in a short span of time yet August and Ethan have been BFFs for life but they don’t admit it to themselves.

All in all, i really liked this book and would grab it for a quick read when I’m craving for some love and magic combined. So, I’m giving this 5 stars with or without magic. *wink*

Leave a Reply

